Smiling graduate in Engineering

Academic Prizes

Smiling graduate in Engineering

Wolfson College awards the following prizes for academic excellence. They are awarded on graduation.

Sir David Williams Prize

For the best first class performance by a Wolfson student in Part II of the Law Tripos
Sir David Williams was President of the College between 1980 and 1992 and Vice-Chancellor of the University between 1989 and 1996. He was also a distinguished lawyer in the field of public law.  The prize celebrates his outstanding service to the College.

Hugh Bevan Prize

For the most distinguished performance by a Wolfson student in the LLM
This prize celebrates our distinguished Honorary Fellow, Professor Hugh Bevan, who has spent his life researching and teaching in the field of family law. For many years, he was Professor of Law at the University of Hull; he came to Wolfson first as a Visiting Fellow in 1986 and has been an Honorary Fellow since 1992.

Jennings Prize 

For a First Class or a Distinction in a University Examination, awarded to those who have not already won a named Law prize
Dr Arthur Jennings was a lecturer in the Veterinary School and a keen ornithologist. He was Senior Tutor between 1974 and 1980, and the Prize was established in his name when he retired.

Tunnicliffe Prize

For the best performance by a student returning to academic study after a break of more than 30 years
This prize was endowed by alumna Sonia Tunnicliffe and her husband Derek in recognition of  the support she received as a mature student.

Joe Petty Prize and Joe Petty Bursary

For the best performance by a Wolfson student in the MPhil in Criminology
After reading Law at Gonville & Caius College in 1952, Joseph (Joe) Petty joined Wolfson as a mature student in 1990, reading for the MPhil in Criminology.  He was very generous in his support of the College, with beautiful gifts of silver, and was also a member of the Morrison Society.  His legacy has enabled the College to establish both the Joe Petty Prize, for Criminology students, and the Joe Petty Bursary.

Jack King Prize

For the best performance by a Wolfson student in the MPhil in architecture-, engineering- or history-related subjects
Jack King was a Founding Fellow of the College, Bursar 1968-1979, Vice-President 1984-1988 and 1992-1994, Senior Proctor 1991-1992 and was awarded the MBE in 2002. Jack died in 2007 and an appeal in his name raised the funds for this prize and a separate bursary.

The Dato Ng Kong Yeam Prize

For the best first class performance by an undergraduate in Part I of the Law Tripos
Visiting Fellow, Professor Irene Ng, has established an annual prize for Law in the name of her father, Dato Ng Kong Yeam, who is an eminent lawyer in Singapore and Malaysia.

The Charles Carlton Prize

For the best MPhil performance in History (or the arts, humanities or social sciences, excluding Law)
Charles Carlton was Professor Emeritus of History at North Carolina State University and a frequent Visiting Fellow at Wolfson.